--
you're reading...
thoughtful thoughts

2013. What a year.

I did this last year (see my 2012 here); perhaps this shall be my annual year-in-review tradition. 2013 was a roller coaster ride…

What did you do in 2013 that you have never done before?

  • Completed my dietetic internship, passed the Canadian Dietetic Registration Exam, and am now a Registered Dietitian in Alberta
  • Took care of my mother who was diagnosed with breast cancer (biggest shock of my life)
  • Got my first big girl job
  • Went on a (foodie) trip with the bestie (hopefully the first of many!)
  • Became a counsellor for the university fellowship at church
  • Moved home to YYC

Did you keep your New Year’s Resolutions and will you make more next year? 
No, and no.

Did someone close to you give birth in 2013?
The Sy’s baby girl!

Did someone close to you die?
My dog of 18 years in October, which I’m still not over.

What countries did you visit?
Montreal, Canada. I know, not a country, but this country is so big it requires multiple trips to see all of it! Next Canadian destination on my bucket list is Atlantic Canada. Who wants to road trip?!

What did you lack in 2013 that you would like more of in 2014?
Cantonese-speaking skills.

What dates from 2013 will remain etched upon your memory?
October 18, the day my beloved dog died. Also August 2, the day I graduated from the dietetic internship. 2013-10-07 12.12.51

What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Completing the dietetic internship and obtaining my practice permit.

What was your biggest failure?
Questioning God hard after mom’s breast cancer diagnosis (because seriously, she’s the healthiest person I know and does everything “right” health-wise + no family history), only to be rebuked and strengthened in my faith in Him shortly after.

Did you suffer injury or illness?
There was a weird few days when I completely lost my senses of smell and taste. I still have no idea how that happened, but it was hilarious, weird and a little scary all at once.

What was the best purchase you made?
A new wool jacket that I got from RA clothing, something I’ve been looking for for a long time. It’s got to be both warm and chic (and I’m uber picky). Fashion must be married to function in this part of Canada!

Whose behaviour merited the most celebration?
Mom’s utter trust in God in the face of cancer. Also Andrew Rozalowsky’s, a friend from Guelph who battled leukemia for 2 years and just went home to be with our Lord. Throughout his battle, he would still be studying and writing about the Word, and blessed many people, myself included, through his work. His thoughts on Philippians 1 and how they relate to his situation are worth reading (click here). 

Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?
Mayor Rob Ford and those involved in the Senate scandal, especially Pamela Wallin because she was the Chancellor of the U of Guelph when I graduated and I shook her hand thinking it was so cool to get to do that.

Where did most of your money go?
Montreal and Toronto trips – mostly food-related expenses *cough$160dinneratGarde Mangercough* 

What did you get really really excited about?
Finishing internship. What. A. Ride.

What song will always remind you of 2013?
10 000 Reasons by Matt Redman. Not only did it explode onto the Christian worship scene, but despite all the crap that happened in the last quarter of the year, it continually reminds me that God has blessed me with so much

Compared to this time last year, are you?
Happier or hardened?  Hardened
Thinner or fatter?  Fluctuated
Richer or poorer?  Definitely poorer (same answer as 2013… I guess that means I’m even poorer now haha)

What do you wish you’d done more of?
Spend more time with my dog and friends in Toronto.

What do you wish you’d done less of?
Time on Facebook and other Internet time wasters (unchanged from 2013 ha…)

How did you spend Christmas?
Surrounded by family and friends, all fighting for a chance to hold/play with Sammy, who unfortunately was sick.

What was your favourite program?
Arrow. Such a good show. Close second: BBC’s Sherlock, and it’s only second because there are only 3 episodes per season. If it was on weekly like a regular show, it would be first in a heart beat.

What was the best book you read?
Sherlock Holmes. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle sure knows how to write a page-turner!

What was your greatest musical discovery?
Moriah PetersShe opened for Tenth Avenue North‘s first Canadian concert in Barrie, Ontario, and I was completely blown away by this young lady’s talent! A close second would be Rend Collective Experiment, who also opened for Tenth Ave. They are a Northern Irish band and their music is explosively energetic. 

What did you want, and get?
A job as a dietitian.

What did you want, and not get?
A job as a dietitian in Toronto.

Favourite film of this year?
Ironman 3. Also Disney’s Frozen. The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug was pretty good too.

What did you do on your birthday and how old were you?
On the day of, nothing. I really didn’t feel like doing anything for once, surprisingly, given that it was my “big 25th”. A couple weeks later I had a big joint birthday dinner with friends which was fun.

What is one thing that would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Being there when my dog died so I could have closure. Still not “over it”.

How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2013?
Comfy chic.

What kept you sane?
Fellow dietetic interns, good friends and the bf.

Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Lea Michele. What a voice. And Benedict Cumberbatch, aka Best Sherlock Ever (move over, Robert Downey Jr.). sherlock-benedict-cumberbatch

Who do you miss?
My dog. Immeasurably much. How does one “get over” the death of a faithful companion of 13 years? Also the bf who is 3443 km away (exactly. I Google mapped it).

Who was the best new person you met?
Re-met a friend of a friend who moved to Calgary for seminary and is super duper cool.

What are you most grateful for?
All the people who gathered around my family to support us and help us out while mom was going through cancer treatment, whether it was through prayers or providing meals or just moral support. 

Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2013:
God’s plan is so perfectly timed. A lesson I have previously learned, but it’s just been incredibly more evident in 2013. How?

1) Mom didn’t have to start chemo until right after I flew home, when I could take her to all her appointments and help explain all the medical stuff, and help her remember which drugs to take when.

2) Mitzu was doing so poorly before I left for my short Toronto trip and I was concerned mom wouldn’t be able to take care of him because her third chemo round was coming up. He died the day after I left, which, although it killed me not to be there, was actually good because it alleviated a lot of worry for mom, and he wouldn’t have survived the cold winter that started way earlier in Calgary than it normally does anyway, so really, the timing was ideal.

3) Although I had started applying for jobs since around June/July, I didn’t land one single interview until midway through mom’s chemo treatments. Soon after she finished treatment (meaning that I didn’t need to drive her to all her appointments any more and she didn’t need as much help around the house), I got the job. And during that period of job searching, I felt this peace throughout. I never worried even though people thought I should be. “And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.” Phillipians 4:7. 

What are you looking forward to in 2014?
Figuring out this real life thing – how to balance work, family, friends, hobbies, and most importantly, God in all of it. 

2014

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think?

Would you like posts straight to your inbox?

Perspective

History

January 2014
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
