--
you're reading...
thoughtful thoughts

Blessings

Since starting my dietetic internship, I have been overwhelmed with unexpected blessings:

  • awesome, chill, Christian housemates, one of whom happens to be a nurse at the hospital I am based out of
  • my house is located right between the 2 main hospitals I have most of my rotations at, and is across from a smaller hospital that I have my second rotation at (cannot wait to be able to roll out of bed 15 mins before I have to be at work!!)
  • so many ways to save money (essential since I don’t get paid at all):
    • having cheap rent that includes util, something I’ve never been able to get in Guelph
    • finding out that there is a free staff shuttle bus between hospitals. I live across the street from one of them =  Saving so much on monthly bus passes alone!
    • living close to no less than 4 different grocery stores, one of which is a Chinese one that is essentially a mini T&T = cheap, fresh groceries!!! (this is especially amazing because Guelph does not have anything like this)
  • having 7 great internmates – I was a little apprehensive about clashing personalities and the like, but everyone is really nice
  • living in a beautifully quaint neighborhood that literally has everything I want: old, unique houses (no cookie-cutters!!), wide streets lined with towering trees that form a lovely canopy, brilliant red, orange and gold leaf colors in the fall, quiet, yet close to downtown meaning close to lots of good food and cute little shops… aka the perfert neighborhood
  • what seems like the cheapest gas in southwestern Ontario! It’s usually at least 4 cents cheaper than Guelph and Toronto, which is great for my poor bf who has to come pick me up/drop me off whenever we want to go out to TO

And last but not least, my first rotation, food services, is not the monster everyone kept telling me it is, due in no small part to my amazing preceptor/manager who emphasizes work-life balance (“Don’t do work at home!”) and gives us just the right balance of coaching and prodding to learn how to be resourceful in taking charge of our learning. In combination with having a partner to go through food services with, this rotation has really eased me into the intern life. This is my last week of my first rotation – cannot believe how fast time has flown by!

Looking at this list, everything just seems to have fallen into place for my move to a new city, new job, and the beginning of a career.

Thank you Lord for practically paving the way for me to come here.

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think?

Would you like posts straight to your inbox?

Perspective

History

November 2012
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
