--
you're reading...
Christian living

He’s personal

I’m currently reading through Psalms, and today, read through Ps. 3-5. These are prayers of David, asking the Lord to protect him from his enemies. He starts with supplication, asking for deliverance from his enemies, but always ends with the knowledge that  his God will protect him and sustain him. It really hit me how personal this prayer/psalm was. You can really tell that David knew that God would answer him. He knew that the God he prayed to was very much real and very much involved in the world. My mind wandered back to the stories in Samuel and Kings, where the Lord spoke to David and gave direction to him on the path to kingship. He was so clearly evident in David’s life that there was no shadow of a doubt that God would answer his prayers. It made me reflect on my own spiritual life. Are my prayers as confident as David’s? Do I pray with the same faith that David did? The psalms that he wrote are so personal. Do I, deep down, also know without a shadow of a doubt that God will answer me too? That He cares about my life and is deeply involved in it? Does my life, my actions and words reflect this belief?

… lots to think about.

Discussion

One thought on “He’s personal

  1. I love that God called David “a man after my own heart”. I find those words so beautiful.

    Posted by ardicad | December 4, 2011, 8:00 pm

What do you think?

Would you like posts straight to your inbox?

Perspective

History

December 2011
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
