--
you're reading...
neat!

My laptop is telling me to get a new laptop.

My trusty old HP Pavilion dv2000 laptop has served me well for 4.5 years and counting (well technically it got a little revival with a new harddrive and more RAM last year… but still! 4.5 years is not too shabby for an HP laptop that has outlived every single one of its comrades from first year. Sadly, it’s 9 cell battery has been dying along with the rest of it. The battery warning used to say something along the lines of:

“There is a problem with your battery; consider replacing it.”

And I just kind of ignored it. Now it says (and I didn’t even know they could change warnings, but I guess it’s kind of a nice touch):

“There is a problem with your battery, so your computer might shut down suddenly.”

Along with a (new) check box that allows you to enable or disable:

“Warn me if my battery may need replacement.”

That particular check box only appeared when my battery warning went into what seems to be Code Red. Thanks for being so kind, HP update patches. For my own amusement, I chose to keep the battery warnings enabled. I want to see if any newer, Code Super Red messages will pop up.

I suppose I should get off my lazy rear and really start shopping for a new laptop instead of occasionally browsing… it’s practically asking for me to lay it to rest, for crying out loud! Thank goodness all the new tech is out and standard on the new laptops now! The ones I have my eye on are definitely over a grand… though having taken good care of this laptop, I think I can afford to splurge a bit since this next one will (hopefully) last me another 5 years!

Discussion

3 thoughts on “My laptop is telling me to get a new laptop.

  1. i should be ashamed of going through three laptops D:

    Posted by icebeh | May 31, 2011, 1:11 am
  2. i’ve gone through 4….

    Posted by J | May 31, 2011, 7:29 am
  3. though technically 1 wasn’t mine…er…and 2 still work….

    Posted by J | May 31, 2011, 7:30 am

What do you think?

Would you like posts straight to your inbox?

Perspective

History

May 2011
S M T W T F S
« Mar   Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
