--
you're reading...
rants, 'cause everyone's entitled to those

Sometimes,

I just want to give up. Sometimes I just want to curl up in bed with the blankets over my head. Or fly back to the comforts of home. Who doesn’t want life to be easy? For jobs to come falling into my hands? I’ve been job hunting since the end of April, and have had a grand total of 2 3 interviews. During the summer, my parents were planning a trip to Australia and New Zealand, and asked if I wanted to come. “Of COURSE I want to go! Who wouldn’t?! But.. I can’t commit since I don’t know if I’ll be working by then… so don’t plan for me to go.” said I, fully expecting to be employed by November/December. Well, it’s November now, and not a job prospect on the horizon, and my parents are going to Aus & NZ, with an awesome itinerary. I can’t help but think that I could also be flying off to NZ next Thursday, if I had known there’d be nothing to stay here for.

A sense of despair is slowly creeping over me. I don’t want to waste this year, as I want to build up as much experience as possible in order to re-apply with a stronger resume to the dietetic internships next February. I have awesome, nutrition-related volunteering gigs for which I am very grateful, but I need a source of income too. I keep debating whether to just give up on nutrition-applicable jobs and just waitress or something for the money. I know that I’m supposed to give this up to God, and I do trust that He’ll eventually put me where He wants me to be, but when I search through job sites and company sites, and find nothing that is remotely applicable, it’s a little disheartening. Who says that He even wants me to become a dietitian? Yet I don’t feel anything adverse towards my chosen field, so I’m going with a “continue” so far. People keep telling me to network network network. I honestly don’t really know how to go about it. I’ve asked the professionals that I know who are in the health field if they know people who might be hiring, but nothing. Anyways… its late, and this is depressing me as I write this. Good night.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Sometimes,

  1. hug

    Posted by bonn | November 10, 2010, 2:51 am
  2. aw.. you’ll be okay! i’m here to give you hugs when you need it

    Posted by icebeh. | November 10, 2010, 10:41 am

What do you think?

Would you like posts straight to your inbox?

Perspective

History

November 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
