--
you're reading...
rants, 'cause everyone's entitled to those

I hate uncertainty.

But hey, who doesn’t? My whole life is currently one giant uncertainty, and has been for the past 5 months and counting. It’s taking a toll. Perhaps the reason why I didn’t want to leave home earlier in September is because home is the only thing secure in my life right now. Despite job chances being epically low in Calgs, at least I definitely had a place to live, with all the comforts of home and family. Here, everything is uncertain.

The place I live now is great, but I’m unsure of when the person I’m subletting from will return to Guelph and claim the room back. She says at least by the winter semester, but possibly sooner. She herself doesn’t even know. I haven’t even fully unpacked because of this. Just clothes and toiletries are out. So that leaves me looking for housing. Still haven’t found a job, but at least I’m waiting to hear back from an interview, which I was supposed to hear back from yesterday, but found out the decision is delayed until next Monday… and if I don’t get that job… then it’s back to the drawing board. Even my volunteering stuff is uncertain. I’m called in randomly with no set schedule for both gigs. Even the snack program I’m helping an RD start at her kid’s school is uncertain as to it’s feasibility, since we found out that the entire school and all it’s programs can only fundraise three times a YEAR, which is likely to screw us over.

Not to mention I feel completely out of place here since everyone I know in Guelph is a student except for me. I have to keep reminding myself why I’m even here. Career. Or should that be “career”. Chances of getting a nutrition-related job that doesn’t require being an RD are better here than Calgs, unfortunately. More connections, awesome volunteering gigs… none of which keep me busy enough to forget the constant uncertainties hanging over my head.

I’ve realized one thing about being graduated and not looking into more school. Life is tough. And it’s telling me to suck it up. God I miss the shelter and certainty of schooling. And I wish there were a handbook on life. Can someone write one? Please and many thanks.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “I hate uncertainty.

  1. Hang in there!!! That will be in in 3 months. Praying for you! :)

    Posted by Dorcas | September 28, 2010, 9:40 pm
  2. The handbook on life is called the Bible and someone GREAT already wrote it. :)

    Posted by J | September 28, 2010, 10:59 pm
  3. Aww, I feel sad to read this. Uncertainties defintiely do suck. I was going to recommend a book to you, but what the person said above about the Bible being the handbook of life, I’m sure that comment has great significance and truth for you.
    I came across this book sometime in the spring. I haven’t read it, just saw it. I follow some dietitians and dietetic students on twitter and somebody posted a link to this:
    http://allaccessinternships.blogspot.com/p/getting-matched-guide-for-dietetics.html
    I’m not even sure if it’s American or Canadian. But is a handbook for the life of a nutrition student!

    Posted by Liz | September 29, 2010, 10:14 pm

What do you think?

Would you like posts straight to your inbox?

Perspective

History

September 2010
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
