--
you're reading...
Christian living

God’s will or my will?

How does one determine what God’s will for them is? I always thought that if, after prayerful consideration, you make a decision and you feel at peace with it, then that is what God wants you to do.

But I was completely at peace with applying for chair. I thought that was what God wanted me to do. In the back of my mind, I did wonder who would be Bible study coordinator if I did chair. This year’s nomination committee thought that I would be more effective as BS coord, mainly because there isn’t anyone else who can do it.

I’m not complaining or being bitter about not getting to be chair, not at all. I’m just really confused because I thought thats where He was calling me to be (I went from being scared to even think of chairing, to considering it, to deciding to apply, to being at peace with it). But now it seems I was wrong and God actually wanted me to stay on as BS coord. I thought that He wasn’t calling me to BS coord anymore, but I guess not. Regardless, at the end of the day, wherever God wants me to serve, then thats where I’ll gladly be.

I know the whole deal about God opening and closing doors too. But still, at the end of it, I thought that if He gives you complete peace about a decision, then thats what He wants for you. So yeah, call me confused. Maybe I “felt” it wrong. I don’t know!

Discussion

One thought on “God’s will or my will?

  1. Perhaps it was the exercise of just following where the Spirit led…even if it didn’t lead you through to where you thought He was leading. God’s leading is not always to success. The main thing is to be obedient and faithful. =)

    Posted by reigh | March 27, 2009, 12:44 am

What do you think?

Would you like posts straight to your inbox?

Perspective

History

March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
