--
you're reading...
Christian living

A living sacrifice

Growing up in a Christian home and becoming a Christian at a young age, you always knew that as a believer in Jesus Christ, we are called to go out and spread the Gospel to the corners of the earth… to sacrifice our own desires and goals in life to follow the Lord’s calling and do His work. Many people go on short/long-term missions overseas as part of that sacrifice.

I’ve always known that going on missions is probably one of the most life-changing things you will ever experience. I’ve always known that I should go and people have encouraged me to go on a short-term missions trip for a quite a while. But I’ve never felt the desire to. Until yesterday. Inexplicably. I went in to service early (before the doors open) so that I could quiet down my heart and prepare myself to come before God and worship Him with no distractions on my mind (I also don’t know why I chose yesterday to do this. Never done it before). It was just a regular service, with Pal speaking for the first time since September being the only anomaly. We sang Starfield’s Reign In Us as one of the worship songs.

The chorus goes:

Oh Great and Mighty One / with one desire we come
That you would reign / that you would reign in us
We’re offering up our lives / a living sacrifice
That you would reign / that you would reign in us

The words “We’re offering up our lives, a living sacrifice” stood out to me yesterday. I don’t know why.. I’ve heard the song before. What it means to be a living sacrifice… to truly let Jesus sit on the throne of your life and allow Him to command it for His glory.. I want it. For the first time in my 20 years, I was able to sincerely, honestly pray that I was finally willing to be used as God pleases on the mission field, if it is in His plan.

Throughout my life I’ve wondered why I could never say that I was completely willing and had a desire to go on overseas missions (even short-term ones). I was just talking with Jon today and he told me that at his church’s spring conference, the speaker said that 200 000 Chinese immigrate to Canada a year, and 30-40% end up in Toronto (I guess the rest stay in Vancouver. jk =p). And we were talking about how many Christians forget that we live in a missions field. There are lost and needy people all around us, both in the physical aspect and especially the spiritual. Yes there is always the “obvious” places that need to reached like China and Africa and other under-developed/developing countries, but at home the need is just as great. I think a lot of people are blinded to a call to minister to people right here at home because of their great desire to serve God overseas (I’m not trying to knock those who are called to go overseas. Its great that they are obedient to God’s call to go).

A. W. Tozer said in his book Keys to the Deeper Life that one of his life’s prayers is [paraphrase] “That God would grant me the privilege of joining Him in His work, if He wants me” (sorry I’ll put the actual quote when I find it.. its much more striking and powerful when he says it haha my paraphrase is weaksauce). I like how he puts it. Asking God to be allowed to join Him in His work.. I think many times Christians don’t realize how arrogant they are when they ask God what He wants them to do, because in fact, He’s already working and has been working since the beginning of the earth. He doesn’t need us to do anything for Him. We can only pray that He allows us to join Him in whatever He’s doing.

I don’t know where God will lead me or what He has in store for me to do, but I know that when He calls, I will follow.

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think?

Would you like posts straight to your inbox?

Perspective

History

May 2008
S M T W T F S
    Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
